Petals

Pieces of broken bodies fall around me

Like funeral petals

Fallout from friendships

Faced with the nuclear option of my madness

I gouge through gobs of flesh

That were once lips dribbling easy promises

Scouring for something so solid

As a splinter of bone to support my soul

I laughed and you loved it

And then I laughed too much and in the wrong places

And I could not stop

I cried and you loved it

And then I cried too much and in the wrong places

And I could not stop

Down I dig through gristle hair and teeth

Scratching at sinew for a single fingerhold of empathy

There is a solid something

Somewhere

There is a neon dawn a strobing sunrise

Somewhere

There is a noise that is not the scraping of my skull

Somewhere

But not here

~ by yearzerowriters on July 15, 2011.

4 Responses to “Petals”

  1. I liked this poem very much.

  2. I wish this were called “In All the Wrong Places” but I can see the petals falling, too….and I’ve felt that, little pieces of me dying inside everytime I do something “in all the wrong places” or someone makes me FEEL as though I have.

    People are cruel.

    I learned long ago it is not ME that’s in all the wrong places. I *LIKE* me. Not everyone does. Not everyone HAS to…only *I* ever “have to” like me.

  3. The title and the central image of the poem come from the beautiful cherry blossom scene (where the cherry blossom symbolises both the beauty of nature and the fallout from Hiroshima) in Kurosawa’a Dreams.

    That’s exactly the place I’m trying to get to, because I know that’s where I need to be to stay sane. At the same time the thought of that amount of self-belief scares me rigid🙂

  4. I laughed and you loved it

    And then I laughed too much and in the wrong places

    And I could not stop

    I cried and you loved it

    And then I cried too much and in the wrong places

    And I could not stop

    Yes, I feel this. People-torture. Torturing people!

    You put it across spare & there.

Leave a Reply

 
