My Septrional Topography

London Underground, Northern Line

~ by yearzerowriters on June 6, 2010.

38 Responses to “My Septrional Topography”

  1. A lovely, poignant and lyrical piece of work, Marc. I’m sure it’ll have even more impact and relevance for natives of that there London, but it’s still evocative for those of us who aren’t. I suppose ultimately, people and places and events and emotions are pretty much the same wherever you travel?

  2. Evocative for non-residents for sure. It’s neat to hear what you think of different parts.

  3. I have no idea what Septrional means, but I like this one quite a lot.

    There’s enough variety for each station not to get bored, and you choose your words well. This is usually what pulls me out of your work…i feel like you group too may difficult words together, too closely…but it didn’t happen here.

    Oli

  4. I really like this, Marc, for exactly the same reasons I love The Great Bear, which I’m sure had a part to play in the piece’s history

  5. Personal, nostalgic but offering many ways forward, each one the spark of a human story. Sets off a resonant humming, recognition, interest. Lovely.

  6. I love how you’ve taken familiar locations and interpreted them from a personal perspective. Whilst I was studying at UCL I travelled the northern line every single day, and spent time living at Euston and East Finchley. Only one question – why did you choose the bank branch rather than the charing cross route?

    • Just more memorable things happened to me there than the Charing Cross Branch, though I did live near Tottenham Court Road station as one of my 9 Northern Line residences (mostly all rentals)

  7. What a brilliant idea – taking us down the line of memory, making connections at every stop. I loved this, gives a sense of place and time and character. What a fascinating little film this would make.

  8. […] Underground poetry by Marc Nash I own a book of Metro lines of the world. Its in my bedroom, even. But I think even without that, I would have been drawn to recommending this map-poem by Marc Nash. […]

  9. BRILLIANT! I love this. Gutted I didn’t do it : (
    Pen

    • Coming from you Pen, that is a huge filip to me.

      Marc x

      (Busy sorting out my wardrobe for the 7th. Had to ask someone at work my likely dress size. I’m saying nothing else)

      marc nash

  10. I can imagine this as a reading and being very compelling. I loved the journey.

  11. This is lovely Marc. I so wish I was familiar with the locations, but as others have said, it’s still beautiful and reminiscent of journeys we have all taken. This is short on words and long on beauty!

  12. Wow. A mad experiment, Marc. Reminds me of the Tree of Life in visual structure and some of its attempts to chart an experience.

  13. Nice job Mark. I love the little flashes of insight we get at each stop and the glimpse down each fork in the road.

  14. Knowing the line well simply added an extra level of excitement – what a fantastic idea. Like Pen, it’s one of those ideas you see and immediately berate yourself for not having done!

    Loved it, thank you x

  15. Ths is wicked. Loved the forking, particularly – although it took me a moment or two to decide if I was going to read across, then down, or the other way round (I went for the former!)

  16. Love how you used the tube map for form. Off to hear you read it. Brilliant idea brilliantly executed. peace…

  17. A person’s life on a map…

  18. Bringing back happy memory of my visit to London two years ago as I read your poetry of snippets of your life around the northern line.

    Poetry in your words and in the look of it!

  19. This is a brilliant idea. I absolutely love it. Don’t know the stops myself, but you personalized them for me. Thanks!

  20. what an excursion… wishing I could leave my desk/office/home and go.
    ~2

  21. This was very cool. I’m itching to try a similar exercise with my city’s public transit map. Nice work.

  22. A North and South Londoner salutes you. Having lived and worked both ends and branches of the Northern line and married to a Balham boy this resonated. As well as capturing the essence of city life in the underground.

    Weirdly I have set a story on the Northern line but it takes a different direction from this.

    Fabulous!

  23. Maybe it’s just me, but I imagined Edward Gorey style illustrations as I read this. (And that pleased me.) Evocative work.

  24. I am mightily impressed by your piece of work, Marc. I love it on so many levels, it’s hard to put into words. Exceptional.

  25. What the devil are artist teas? They sound good fun. Also, I wouldn’t be too depressed about your old annual haunt becoming a supermarket. My _weekly_ haunt has _always been_ a supermarket.

    • nice one Barry! Artist teas were when I was part of a Hampstead arts circle who conducted very civilised Friday teas at the house of John “Orton Diaries” Lahr and included such future luminaries as Arabella “Does My Bum Look Big In This” weir and Ruth “Not Standing For Oxford Chair Of Poetry” Padell …

  26. This is really nice! What a great way to waltz through the echoes of memory. I have a similar train route I can use to recall things from my past, but not as poignant or as life-long as you’ve managed here.

    An excellent read!

  27. Very cool story. Loved the design of it all, and the brief glimpses into a life make this a powerful story indeed.

  28. Beautiful and poetic idea, a kind of picture poem of a person’s life.

  29. This is fabulous. All the little things that may or may not matter tied together by the line. Brilliant concept.

Leave a Reply

 
