Submit Your Writing To Win Prestigious Award and £10,000

First off, let me say sorry to readers and writers who’re not living in the UK.

Today’s post is about the Brit Writers Award and it, unfortunately only caters for writers living and working in the UK. You, happily, can win a Writer’s Award and £10,000 if you’ve got what it takes. I hasten to add that anyone from anywhere in the world can access the writing tips, resources and features this website offers.

Many of our Year Zero Writers are artists who’ve consistently created material for many years. Quite a number of our members have also self-published our books. While many of us are giving away our work for free and are contented with the satisfaction it brings to our fans, a few of us are also attempting to develop a wider readership in the hope that someday we can build up at least a partial livelihood from writing. A prestigious award can help construct not only a sizeable platform, but attract the right people empowered to give us that little push we like to think we deserve.

You can submit work in any of the following categories: poems, short stories, non-fiction, children’s stories, song writing, and novels. If you’re an author who fits into one of the minority backgrounds you have the option to apply for your work to be grouped as such. The main category that caught my attention is that of ‘Unpublished Writer Of The Year.’ Entries are encouraged from unpublished writers (in the particular case of Year Zero Writers and our supporters) and authors who’ve already self-published their own works.

Any amount of work is allowed, and if you’ve self-published your book, why not submit this as a whole. There are several high-profile judges and the awards are widely covered in the media. If this isn’t enough, the overall prize money is £10,000, the largest prize money for unpublished writers in the UK. While the monetary prize is terribly attractive, the best news is that all finalists will be invited to the awards ceremony. This presents a chance to meet the UK’s most influential literary agents, publishers and producers.

As would be expected, there are conditions of submissions. You have to become a member of Brit Writers Awards and pay a one-off admin fee of £10, after which you can submit unlimited amounts of work in several different categories. Deadline is Feb 26th 2010.  Make sure you read all the terms and conditions to make sure you’re sending in all the information they require from you. Here is the weblink: http://www.britwriters.co.uk/index.html

Visit me at http://www.abloggersbooks.com  (A Blogger’s Books) for more writing opportunities and paid writing work.

~ by yearzerowriters on January 25, 2010.

12 Responses to “Submit Your Writing To Win Prestigious Award and £10,000”

  1. I KNEW ythere wa a reason I hadn’t got an ISBN for Songs. This looks like a great comp to go for – and I had no idea about it before now. Thanks, Anne
    Dan

  2. I think I registered with them last week, but I’m not quite sure why. The problem with competitions is that there is only 1 winner per category. The odds are even more against you than cold-calling publishers/agents and you have zero chance of getting any feedback…

    This is purely my opinion and please do not be put off from entering.

    marc

  3. Thanks for the link – this looks great. I know the chances are next-to-nothing, but it’s easy to enter and the fee buys access to other areas. Reckon I’ll send my novel in and see what happens.

  4. Sheesh – what about Brits living elsewhere and spreading the culcha?

  5. None of their links are working.
    Pen

  6. Sorry guys. My computer is not working properly and I was out of the country today🙂 (Filming in Wales and going back there tomorrow).
    I’ve managed to sign up and use the site, Pen. Maybe try again tomorrow? Either that or they’ve been overrun by applications.:-)

    Anne LG

  7. Marc, if you don’t try you won’t know what ‘could’ happen. We’ve got to start somewhere. I ‘cold-called’ a person in an office and ended up sending a letter, which led me to making a few more phone calls. Someone eventually said yes to me. It’s small, but it’s a start.

    • I can’t see anything in the rules saying one can’t enter an existing story so, for very little effort there is a great opportunity. Which seems to me to be a great way of getting potential exposure for Year Zero.

    • Don’t misunderstand me, I have been down the route of comps & submissions for 15 years in playwriting and a further 10 years in prose. You can only hit your head against a brick wall so many times before reeling away concussed. For me and my type of non-commercial prose, I just did the maths, the permutations and comps and submissions are prohibitively long shots. Again, this relates purely to my experience with regard to my work and should not be taken as evidence for anyone else weighing up their own strategies vis a vis publication. Self-pub and Year Zero are the way to go for me and like Dan, if an agent did finally express an interest, I would probably turn them down having got to such a stage by my own efforts.

      marc

      • Yes, don’t get me wrong, Marc – I’m not saying I’d sub to make my chances of publication higher – just that for 2 minutes uploading a Word file, it seems silly of me not to. same with ABNA, which I uploaded yesterday. I’ve been thinking about how to use comps for publcity this year, and until I get round to doing something original – flashmobbing them with our stuff for example – I’ll keep on uploading. The one I think we SHOULD go for is the Writers Digest self-published book awards.
        Dan

  8. What’s so special about the Writers’ Digest one? I don’t mean ‘special’ snarkily, I mean in sense of strategy how is it any different?

    Surely subbing to these comps only makes sense if there was a YZ imprint of some sort (even electronic), otherwise it is merely changing the odds from 1 in (say) 5000 to 5 in 5000? Whereas if they rec’d 5 to 10 works avowedly from the same imprint, that might, just might, make them sit up and take notice.

    The original sulci collective thing was the partly jokey suggestion of a collective which was actually 1 person, avowedly going against the grain of the individual author, but presented itself as a collective. I seem to have strayed somewhat from that, which I regret. Something along the Luther Blissett collective and whatever they are calling themselves now seemed like a good model to emulate.

    marc

  9. Marc, I suppose if you continued sending stuff to comps and got the same result, it would get a bit annoying to say the least. I’ve sent some work to them. They have a programme where you can apply to be your area’s rep in getting literature to other people. I would’ve applied now that I’m rubber stamped ‘editor’ of a mag, but I’m not sure I can take on all that work at this time. Apart from the comp, they’ve got some great stuff going on. Check out the site and see. There are some great contacts there too.
    Anne LG

Leave a Reply

 
