SKIN BOOK #5

My whole body’s cold on the cotton save the 6 inch towelling band binding the gash in my leg. I pull my SKIN BOOK close, press my fingers on the warm blank page, let it breathe into me, and write, Imagine a house with

2

people.

2

faces lit through one window

2

cups with coffee the same luke warm

2

sets of fingerprints on the handle of the bedroom door

2

fobs of identical keys

2

skins losing heat in every room

2

greasy plates left on the sideboard overnight

2

sets of footprints in January snow

2

voices breaking the stillness

2

mouths breathing the first cigarette smoke of the day

2

pairs of eyes exploring the darkness in the night

2

knives on the table

2

razor blades on the bathroom sink

2

pairs of hands

2

sighs

2

screams

2

cuts

2

bloods

2

screams

2

hands

2

hands

2

touch-scabs

2.

I close my SKIN BOOK and the pages fall back open. My SKIN BOOK breathes through my fingers, through my sourblood to my head, whispers a membrane-throb, imagine a house with

2

people.

~ by yearzerowriters on November 26, 2009.

12 Responses to “SKIN BOOK #5”

  1. See the random post generator has twinned this with mine Dan.

    I think this is possibly your most crystal clear one to date. The ‘2’s’ build up a challenging, goading rhythm and yet lays out the duality/coupledom dyad very emphatically.

    marc

    • thank you – it was very difficult to write. Basically, this is intended to be a calmer, more simplistic piece – the whole novel is deliberately crafted like an album, and needs to be taken down in some places before working back up. That’s the intention, anyway!
      Dan

  2. Terrific, Dan — send me the sound file! The more I read, the more excited I get. I know it is designed to be read aloud and it will work brilliantly that way, but I wanted to interject and say that it is also excellent on paper. The rhythm rides the mind with ease.

    • Sorry, Daisy – this conference has taken over my life – and Free-e-day & your launches. From Dec 2nd I’ll have a tiny bit of time for my stuff whilst I work on promoting your books🙂

  3. As I read this, I could hear it set to music, cavernous emptiness, echo & whispers n’ stuff like that. Kind of Kraftwerk meets Portishead. Very strange experience! Great reading/writing.

    Pen

    • Kraftwerk meets Portishead is EXACTLY it – I was listening to The Man-Machine whilst I wrote it – and Portishead’s Machine Gun is right in there too – maybe with Polly Harvey singing?

  4. that was great, man. you are really a great writer and I’m very privileged to be friends with you.

    • That feeling is entirely mutual, Sabina – there’s a great new play on Authonomy – the Angel of the Bus Shelter – reminds me a lot of your plays.

  5. I so feel this, Dan. It’s brilliant. I wonder if you meant ‘blood’ or ‘bleed’ when you said, ‘bloods.’
    Anne LG

    • Thanks, Anne – “bloods” sounds right and feels right to me but I could be wrong. My MC all through the novel feels a very strong connection to her blood – as though it has an identity separate from her. I think she thinks of herself as made up of separate parts, each of which is a living thing in its own right. I think🙂 does that make sense?

      • Yes absolutely. Have been hatching a short tale entitled “The Sum Of the Parts” on just this theme…

        marc

  6. All of which reminds me, in the light of the horror film based on it currently doing the rounds, of the wonderful song by Hole “The Pieces of Jennifer’s Body”
    Dan

Leave a Reply

 
